MEMORANDUM – 2022 Legal Holidays

Pursuant to 1 CMC § 311, the following legal holidays are observed in the Commonwealth for the calendar year of 2022. Please note that schools and government offices are closed on these days. All department and activity heads must ensure that essential public services are not disrupted during these days.

New Year’s Day (Saturday, January 1, 2022)                    to be observed on Friday, December 31, 2021

Martin Luther King Jr. Day                                                                        Monday, January 17, 2022

President’s Day                                                                                        Monday, February 21, 2022

Commonwealth Covenant Day                                                                   Thursday, March 24, 2022

Good Friday                                                                                                       Friday, April 15, 2022

Memorial Day                                                                                                   Monday, May 30, 2022

Juneteenth (Sunday, June 19, 2022)                                       to be observed on Monday, June 20, 2022

Independence Day                                                                                               Monday, July 4, 2022

Labor Day                                                                                                Monday, September 5, 2022

Commonwealth Cultural Day                                                                     Monday, October 10, 2022

Citizenship Day                                                                                           Friday, November 4, 2022

Election Day*                                                                                            Tuesday, November 8, 2022

Veteran’s Day                                                                                            Friday, November 11, 2022

Thanksgiving Day                                                                                 Thursday, November 24, 2022

Constitution Day                                                                                       Thursday, December 8, 2022

Christmas Day (Sunday, December 25, 2021)                 to be observed on Monday, December 26, 2022

Sincerely,

/s/

RALPH DLG. TORRES

Governor

# # #


*Pursuant to Title 1 Division 6 Section 6508 of the Commonwealth Code and as stated in Public Law 12-18, if an election is held on a day other than a Saturday or Sunday, the election day shall be a legal holiday within the Commonwealth or in the senatorial or election district.

CNMI Office of the Governor

Office of the Governor Response to Dismissal of Lawsuit Filed Against the House Judiciary & Government Operations Committee

Yesterday, the Superior Court held that the Office of the Governor could not proceed with its case against the House Judiciary and Government Operations Committee. Although the Administration respects the decision of the Judge, we believe the decision is erroneous by ignoring and misinterpreting law and precedent. For example, in its rush to follow federal precedent, it skipped right over the plain text of the Commonwealth Constitution. Then it overlooked some of the most important protections found even in the federal cases — such as the rule that the legislature may subpoena the executive only when the information it needs is not reasonably available anywhere else. The decision will be appealed. It will be for the Supreme Court to ultimately decide the merits of this civil case.

Skip to content